Summer 2013 Anime Season: What am I Watching? (Part 2)

http://animephproject.files.wordpress.com/2013/05/05152013_kami_nomi_goddess_arc.png

Continuing on from my last post, I will be covering the rest of the currently airing summer anime by giving my brief and general thoughts about them so far.

Inu to Hasami wa Tsukaiyou (Dog and Scissors)

I really have no idea what is going on with this anime but for some reason I can’t stop watching it! The opening and ending songs sung by the cast members really brings a lot of energy to the show and I can’t help but feel excited at the beginning and end of every episode. The plot overall seems pretty bland and they reuse the same gags several times every episode. However, I enjoy turning off my brain for 20 minutes a week to just watch this show for what it is and enjoy the cast of characters and silly humor.

The World God Only Knows (Goddesses Arc)

Here’s a pretty interesting anime that takes a unique spin on the traditional harem series. I watched the first two seasons and enjoyed them thoroughly since they brought me many laughs and left me very entertained. However, I wasn’t expecting for this third season to take a more serious turn and transition from an arc based anime, that was a bit repetitive, to a more plot driven show. The show now focuses on a set of girls and we explore their characters more, allowing us to actually care about these characters.

Kamisama no Inai Nichiyoubi (Sunday Without God)

My first impression of this anime was that it is beautiful. The artwork and animation is truly stunning especially the scenery. The show has a very interesting premise where God has left the world and people can no longer die or be born. Those who “die” continue to move around but slowly deteriorate mentally. Lately the show has lost some of its charm but I highly recommend it based on the first two arcs. (The end of the third episode was probably one of the most impactful scenes for me in a while)

Kimi no Iru Machi (A Town Where You Live)

I’ve been following the manga for about a year now so I was ecstatic to hear of an anime adaptation! It took some getting used to since I developed voices for all of these characters in my head while reading the manga which were very different from the anime voices. It starts off mid way into the series and skips over the earlier arcs where you get to know the characters better. While a lot of people heavily disliked this Tokyo arc, I found it to be one of my favorites (probably because I actually favored Eba for Haruto). They took out some key scenes from the manga but overall I feel that its a pretty faithful adaptation and hope they cover up to the return to Hiroshima as university students.

Kiniro Mosaic

I don’t have many thoughts on this besides picking it up because its cute girls doing cute things. I wasn’t planning on watching this but after hearing all the great things people were saying I gave it a shot. It gives me a good chuckle here and there and the voice actresses really do a good job at playing their roles.

Kitakubu Katsudou Kiroku (Chronicles of the Going Home Club)

This anime seems to have a lot of in your face jokes where something will happen and then the main character repeats it for emphasis. I’d say this anime has its moments but it doesn’t really have my interest. This is probably due to the large amount of references to Japanese culture and stories that I am unfamiliar with which makes it hard for me to appreciate it.

https://i0.wp.com/www.due2life.net/wp-content/uploads/2013/07/Love-Lab-01-011.jpg

Love Lab

I’m not sure why I picked this up either but I did and don’t regret it. There isn’t much to say about it other than it has great animation and a lot of funny moments.

Monogatari Series: Second Season

I thought Monogatari overall was an okay series but not the most mind blowing thing ever as many seem to rave on about. Moving on to my thoughts so far, I personally don’t like Hanekawa all that much so I found myself forcing to watch each episode. There were some pretty good moments here and there along with the usual dialog that the series is known for. However, once Araragi finally showed up is where I feel the show began to take off. I am now actually looking forward to the next episode every week.

Servant x Service

Originally I thought this was really boring and couldn’t really stand watching it. However, within the last few episodes where it seems less episodic and actually carries on, I’ve found that it has grown on me. Now that I actually know something about the characters I feel more attached to the show.

Watamote

This show is painful to watch, and I don’t mean that in a bad way. Poor Tomoko just wants to find some friends but doesn’t know how to go about it. So instead she winds up in a lot of awkward or cringe-worthy situations that makes me feel uncomfortable or sad for her. From what I’ve heard there doesn’t seem to be any real plot or character progression so hopefully it stays fresh or entertaining for the rest of the series.

Thanks for reading my post. While they aren’t exactly reviews or in depth, I just wanted to post a bit about what was on my mind for each series. I’ll try to get more descriptive in my future posts but since the season is already almost over, I figured I’d just do this to cover everything briefly.

One thought on “Summer 2013 Anime Season: What am I Watching? (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

