Fall 2013 Anime Season: Pre-Air Impressions (Part 2)

Continuing from where I left off last time, I’ll be going over the Fall 2013 series that I plan on watching and giving my initial impressions of them based on the currently released previews and synopsis.

BlazBlue: Alter Memory – I’m not very familiar with the game but just looking at the preview, this series has very beautiful animation and art style. Hopefully the fight scenes will be well animated as well. I’m not expecting too much since it is based off of a game and the last series I watched that was similar was not executed very well (Danganronpa, Devil Survivor 2).

Freezing Vibration – I recently finished the first season of Freezing and it was pretty much exactly as I expected. It has a pretty decent and interesting plot overall with fan service filled battles. Since I watched the first season I don’t mind watching the second one. On top of that the music and battle scenes in the first season were well done so I’m hoping to get more of that.

Yuusha ni Narenakatta Ore wa Shibushibu Shuushoku wo KetsuiShimashita – Quite a long title there but overall the synopsis seems like it is a romantic comedy similar to Hataraku Maou-sama. I don’t have any real expectations for it story wise but I think it’ll be enjoyable based on the art, premise, and character design alone. The voice actors/actresses for this show also seem to be relatively new to the industry or not as well known so maybe it’ll be the big break for some of them depending on the series reception.

Little Busters! Refrain – I watched the first season of Little Busters! and personally thought it was a bit ridiculous and overly dramatic but from what I hear this is equivalent to Clannad : After Story so many people have high hopes for it. I’m honestly not expecting much since I didn’t enjoy the first season but I’ll give it a shot anyways to see it through to the end so I can have a final opinion on it.

Log Horizon – From the synopsis, it sounds pretty similar to the controversial Sword Art Online. However, after watching the preview and looking at the animation, it looks like it will focus more on living within the game rather than escaping back to real life like Sword Art. Its also not a life or death game so it makes it does not come off as a serious series, but rather more of an adventure and fantasy story.

Ore no Nounai Sentakushi ga, Gakuen Love Comedy wo Zenryokude Jama Shiteiru – As I mentioned earlier, I love watching comedy and harem anime so I’ll definitely be checking this out as a sort of guilty pleasure. At first glance, it seems like an eroge that is on auto pilot and fully animated with the main character being presented with multiple routes or answers he can choose. Again, I’m just looking to be entertained for this series and nothing too deep is expected.

Kakumeiki Valvrave 2nd Season – This is surprisingly one of my most anticipated series. I initially dropped the first season after the first episode but picked it back up after seeing all the discussions and it is definitely one of the craziest series I have seen. Throwing every possible cliche, or trope you want into a box and pull them out at random and that is what Valvrave is. This series is definitely more enjoyable if you sit back for the ride rather than over analyzing it since it doesn’t need to make sense. The first season ended on a pretty big cliffhanger so I’m expecting more madness for this second season!

That wraps up the shows I currently plan to follow in the next season. This list is not concrete as I’ll probably add a lot more series depending on the initial buzz after the first few weeks pass by.

See HERE for Part One of Fall Pre-Air Impressions

One thought on “Fall 2013 Anime Season: Pre-Air Impressions (Part 2)

Leave a Reply

