Anime Recommendation (4) – Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai (AnoHana)

Ano Hi Mita Hana no Namae wo Bokutachi wa Mada Shiranai.

It’s been a while since I’ve posted one of these but here we go! For this post, I am recommending the series AnoHana, or “We Still Don’t Know the Name of the Flower We Saw That Day” which is a pretty dramatic, slice of life series with some supernatural elements to it. I’m recommending this series since this is one of the first series I watched when I got back into anime a year ago (After PapaKiki and Angel Beats). I picked this up after seeing it being recommended with Angel Beats! which absolutely left a major impression on me.

My brief rundown of the series is that there were a group of friends who lost one of their members to a tragic accident when they were kids. The group of friends drifted apart as each of them kept their own personal demons to themselves and they continued on with their lives growing into their teenage years. Menma (the girl who died), reappears to Jinta (The MC) in the form of a ghost. This event ends up bringing the friends back together as they try to figure out a way to send Menma off to heaven (since she’s stuck as a ghost currently). In the end, they are not only doing this for Menma’s sake but they also must confront their inner demons that they have kept bottled up since that fateful day.

There isn’t too much I can write about without spoiling parts of it but I’ll just say that the characters are pretty relatable. While of course it varies from person to person, but I personally found Jinta to reflect a lot of my characteristics and thoughts back in my high school days. This made me really feel an emotion connection with his character since I could relate to his thoughts on life and school. I also managed to find myself understanding what all the characters in the series went through by the end of it, whether it was because they were relatable or my overall dislike for their personality.

One common complaint I see about this series is how it can seem over dramatic at times. While I can see why some might find that to be the case, you have to remember that this is a story based on high school kids so there is likely to be some melodrama. I personally didn’t find it to be overdone and thought the drama made the series much more emotional overall.

In the end, I personally recommend that you watch this series if you haven’t already. I recommended this to a few friends of mine who were never in to anime but they ended up loving this series and actually asked me for more suggestions afterwards.

You can find my other recommendations in this link HERE

Leave a Reply

