Anime Recommendation (5) – Seitokai no Ichizon

Seitokai no Ichizon

For this anime recommendation, I will be talking about the Seitokai no Ichizon series (Student Council’s Discretion). I was reminded of this series recently with the subbed OVA being released (thanks to UTW) and it reminded me how much I loved it. Seitokai no Ichizon is primarily a comedic show with tons of parodies/references to other anime throughout the series. My general overview or brief explanation of this series is that it revolves around Sugisaki Ken, a playboy and his interactions with the rest of the student council members who are all females. Ken, like most protagonists, has a dream which is to make the student council his own personal harem. While it may sound rather shallow of him, his reasoning behind the harem is that it will be the way to bring the people he cares about the most happiness possible.

While this series may look pretty straightforward at the beginning due to its genre and premise, don’t let it fool you. Seitokai no Ichizon, in my opinion, definitely differentiates itself from your typical romcom romance story. While the series is light hearted with tons of gags and jokes, it manages to develop the cast throughout the series. As the story progresses, Ken’s relationship with the girls becomes more developed as we the viewers as well as Ken learns more about them.

In addition to the silly antics and female cast, we also get to take a look at Ken’s character. While he may seem arrogant or like kind of a jerk at first, we get to take a look into his past and see how he became what he is today. We also get a look into his true feelings and thoughts which managed to change my perspective of his character.

The other student council members

I haven’t watched the series in a while now but I believe that the first season focuses more on the comedic aspect of the show with focus on the female cast. The second season focuses more on Ken and tells his story and struggles to become who he is today. It also seems to have a more clear plot where each episode builds up to the finale (the inevitable graduation where they part ways) The OVA is a fun episode that I personally thought was a nice send off for the end of the series. We get to see the majority of the cast make a reappearance and try to convey their feelings to Ken on Valentine’s Day.

In the end, I personally loved the series despite my initial skepticism. I tried to watch the first season back when I first got back into anime and had little interest. However, once I watched other series, Seitokai was much more enjoyable since I understood where the references came from. I’m still a little disappointed by the lack of support the second season received (originally aired in poor quality, online only), but I’m glad that they still managed to wrap up the story nicely by giving it a second season.

You can find my other recommendations in this link HERE

Leave a Reply

