Fall 2013 – Week 5 Thoughts and Impressions

We’re now approaching the halfway mark for a lot of series for this season. This week also managed to revitalized my interest in several shows.

Valvrave S2 – This was a pretty crazy episode after last week’s revelation of Marie’s connection with the Valvraves. You can’t help but feel bad for her, having lived so long but having no recollection of her past because of the tests. She finally has a place where she belongs with friends now only to lose everything once again. I was really impressed by the direction in this episode, bringing back one of the endings from last season and playing it to a montage of Marie destroying her own memories. This scene was one of the most powerful ones I’ve seen and reminded me that while Valvrave is pretty ridiculous, they can execute some emotional and powerful moments. I also can’t help but feel that they left something behind… (poor Saki and Akira)

Kill La Kill – Quite a change of pace from last week’s somewhat fillerish and more light hearted episode. They managed to introduce another dimension or factor in the Kill La Kill world. Previously, I was under the impression that it would just be Ryuuko’s journey to finally face Satsuki, but they introduced an outside party this week (The Nudists) which created a lot more depth in the world. Rather than just being overpowered uniformed students battling each other, we learned that there are people out there trying to get rid of the uniforms as well as there being potential danger in the usage of the uniforms. I think one of the things I enjoy most about this show is how silly it can be at times, especially with Mako’s heart warming speeches.

Samurai Flamenco – This week we’re introduced to Flamenco Girl who resembles Hit Girl from kickass (to an extent) with her more violent approach to bringing “justice”. I was originally under the impression that Mari was going to play more of an admirer rather than flat out join in on the vigilantism. I’m not really a fan of her character at the moment since she seems a little bit too obnoxious. However, I think it’s going to be interesting to see how their values and beliefs will be questioned as they continue moving up the crime ladder to more highly organized criminals.

Thats it for this week, it’s rather short but I don’t have enough of an opinion for most other shows at the moment to discuss them. I’m also looking into picking up Little Busters! again since I heard things are starting to get interesting and if I catch up on it I’ll probably have some thoughts and discussion for it in my next post.

You can check out my previous Thoughts and Impressions on Fall 2013:
Leave a Reply

