Winter 2014 Anime Season – Pre-Air Thoughts

With the Fall 2013 anime season coming to an end in a few weeks, I thought I would share what I’m looking forward to as well as my initial impressions on the Winter 2014 anime season line up. In general, there doesn’t seem to be a whole lot of shows I’m looking forward too, this is probably due to Fall 2013 having quite a few two-cour shows carrying over though.

Buddy Complex

Buddy Complex – I wasn’t a fan of mecha series but Sunrise managed to entice me with Valvrave so I want to give this a shot. The plot sounds pretty cliche with an ordinary high school boy meeting a mysterious girl which ends up changing his life but the animation and art seem decent enough. The cast for voice actors/actresses is also pretty stacked with the voice actors of Kirito (SAO) and Ayase (OreImo) as main characters along with Hanazawa Kana, and Inoue Marina (Just naming a few) as supporting roles.

Chuunibyou demo Koi ga Shitai! Ren

Chuunibyou Season 2 – I watched and enjoyed the first season and thought KyoAni did a great job at adapting the series since they based it on one novel only or something. It was said that this season wasn’t going to focus on a love triangle so it’ll probably be more slice of life while Rikka and Yuuta develop their relationship more.

Gin no Saji 2nd Season

Gin no Saji Season 2 – Another sequel for a show that I watched. One of the most relaxing slice of life anime I’ve seen where we get to see Hachiken escape from all the pressure he had from his family growing up in the city and running off to a rural farm town for school. Just watching how Hachiken tries to find himself is really inspiring and motivates me to try harder in life to find something I’m passionate about and wouldn’t mind doing for a living.

Hamatora The Animation – There isn’t much info available on this series but again I’m mainly watching this for the cast and the gorgeous art and animation style. It looks like it’s some type of supernatural shounen series so this could be hit or miss for me depending on how they execute it.

Mahou Sensou

Mahou Sensou – Another pretty cliche story from the synopsis, guy meets girl and his life changes by being thrown into a whole new world he was oblivious to before. I have a feeling it’ll be kind of similar to Strike the Blood in the sense that there is some supernatural elements involved but still resort down to a romantic comedy at times which I’m okay with.

Nisekoi

Nisekoi – Probably the series that I’m looking forward to the most for Winter 2014. I was initially going to read the manga but when I heard there was going to be an anime adaptation, I put it on hold so I can enjoy the series without having it spoiled for me. Nisekoi combines my favourite genre of anime (romantic comedy) with one of the most established studios (SHAFT) so I have a feeling it’ll be a hit for me.

Seitokai Yakuindomo Season 2 – At long last they finally gave this a second season. The first season ended back in 2010 so for the past 3 years they’ve released enough OVAs to consider this as like a third season. It’s based off a 4-koma manga so there isn’t any real plot or character development but rather its a series based around sexual gags and jokes.

SoniAni: Super Sonico The Animation

Super Sonico – Not sure what to expect from this, its a series based off a company mascot. I do like her character design though and from the given background of Sonico, it should be based on a college setting which is a nice change of pace from all the high school series.

Those are the main series I plan on following. I’m still undecided on Space Dandy since it got a lot of hype from being made by the director of Cowboy Bebop (which I haven’t seen yet). It looks like a fun series but I’m not particularly a fan of the art style. I’ll wait until the shows airs to see what other people’s opinions are before picking it up. This list of shows is significantly less than my Fall 2013 season but there are quite a few shows carrying over as well to fill out my schedule. If there are any other series you feel I should consider looking into for Winter 2014 let me know!

One thought on “Winter 2014 Anime Season – Pre-Air Thoughts

Leave a Reply

