My 2013 Anime Year in Review

With 2013 coming to a close, I decided to reflect on my past year on anime. This is my first full year of following anime on a season to season basis where I would pick up several shows that were currently airing each season. In hindsight, I probably picked up far too many series in the Fall 2013 season by trying to keep up with about 22 series. I found it hard to keep track of everything as well as keep interest in the series which made the shows less enjoyable in my opinion. With that said, I’m looking forward to a great 2014 anime season and will continue working on my backlog throughout the year as well. With that said, I thought I would reflect on two anime series that I watched this past year that really impacted me and gave me a new perspective on things.

Genshiken kasukabe ohno

The first series that really affected me was Genshiken which I watched back in the Spring prior to Genshiken Nidaime airing. While it’s an older series so the animation is not as great as many shows today, I never thought I would enjoy it as much as I did. While at first it seems like a simple slice of life series focusing on a university club of Otaku’s, the character development as well as realism throughout the series really hit close to home. Here we have a cast of characters who are generally social “rejects” but that doesn’t stop them from doing what they love. It doesn’t matter what your interests are or what other people think of them, but rather it’s more important that you have something you’re passionate about and connect with since there are others out there who share the same passion as you do.

genshiken sasahara

The series was also a wake up call for me since I’m too currently in university. While the club was fun and games, they faced the inevitable reality of growing up and entering the real world. I never really thought much about my future since I’ve been in school all my life but just seeing how hard these characters struggled trying to get jobs made me realize that will be me in about a years time. While there is nothing wrong with playing games and watching anime, there does need to be some sort of balance especially as you become an adult and have your own responsibilities. Watching how Sasahara changed as a shy person from the beginning of the series to becoming more confident and comfortable with himself by the end was really inspiring to see.

7562f-baku4

The second series that really made me reflect on myself was the Bakuman series. While it is a silly shounen series about two boys chasing their dreams, it made me understand how important it is to have some vision of the future. The series started off with Mashiro and Takagi being in middle school and ended with them as adults with several manga series published. Throughout the series, we get to see how they basically started from nearly nothing and worked their way up by accomplishing smaller goals to reach their dream in the end. They suffered defeat and had many setbacks throughout their journey but that never stopped them. There’s no reason to fear rejection since if you reflect on your mistakes and then continue on you will eventually succeed. I still don’t really have a solid vision for my future but I do know that I want to work in a field that I enjoy and live a peaceful life. In order to achieve that I’m working harder now in order to reach small goals that will eventually accumulate to my end goal. I could go on about Bakuman and how much I enjoyed this series but I previously did share my thoughts which can be found here.

Well, that concludes my 2013 anime year in review post. I still have one more post to wrap up the Fall 2013 anime season that I’ll be posting towards the end of the week when the season officially comes to a close. In other news, I’m currently working on hosting my own site so I’ll be able to customize it the way I want to which means I’ll be moving to a new location in the new year and at the start of the Winter 2014 season. I hope everyone enjoyed their holidays and wish you all a happy new year as well!

One thought on “My 2013 Anime Year in Review

Leave a Reply

